Eric's Technical Outlet

Learning the hard way so you don't have to

This Space is Not For Sale

It’s always been an unofficial policy of mine anyway, but now I’m stating it outright. I cannot accept offers to partner for advertisement purposes.

I never really thought I’d have to say it, I suppose. But, I was recently approached to run some ads for a vendor. I guess I’m flattered a little bit, as I suppose it means I make enough of a ripple that someone considers my writing to be an investment. I won’t lie, my family could certainly use the extra income so I almost did it. But then I stumbled across this fantastic post. I actually don’t even know who that is or even what he writes about other than that one piece, but I have to say that I agree with all three of his “won’t”s and the first two “will”s (not much of an organizer).

So, OK, so there are advertisements on this site. But that’s the deal from WordPress. I can pay to remove them, but I’m cheap. Since I’m cheap, they put ads on my site in order to pay their bills. But, I have no input into what ads appear. Actually, I don’t even see them because they aren’t shown to the site owner. The only way I could view them is if I logged on as a visitor, which I don’t do because it skews the site stats. Anyway, whatever ads you’re seeing, that’s all WordPress. I have nothing to do with it and I don’t make a penny from it.

This shouldn’t be read as a criticism of people who do accept advertising deals. This isn’t about anyone’s decision but my own. Whatever other people do to maintain their credibility is their concern and their business. This is one way I choose to maintain mine. There is one industry vendor who pays me, and I’ve been very open about that; the vast majority of my writing appears on Altaro.com. I can tell you that, in all the time I’ve been working for them, they’ve made exactly one demand on my writing. That was, “We prefer that you only write about Hyper-V.” I don’t know if that’s an exact quote, but it’s functionally correct. The decision to no longer write about any backup products was strictly my own. Why did I do it? Because I don’t know any certain way to convince anyone that any review I write about an Altaro competitor is not in some way influenced by my relationship with Altaro — except by not writing those reviews in the first place.

So, here we are. I apparently have enough readership to be worth advertising on. I have no idea what my actual reputation is, though. I can tell you that I hope it’s that of an honest person. I know that I’m not always right, but I hope that people realize that my errors are just errors, not lies or intentional bias. I don’t know of any magic formula that will get that reputation for me. One method I have chosen to try to accomplish it is by not accepting advertising offers. Thanks for reading and thanks for any offers, but this space is not for sale.

One response to “This Space is Not For Sale

  1. Rick Vanover April 18, 2013 at 8:16 am

    Cheers for holding the line, Eric!

    Like

Leave a Reply

